To Be Read // June 2022

Hi Friends,
I am going to be talking about my June TBR. In May, I had the worst reading slump, mostly, because my mental health was pretty poor for a large proportion of the month. However, I’m hoping that June will be a better month reading wise. Especially, since June is also my birthday month.


Previous TBR: I have been in the mood to read some holiday books, which is a bit odd. However, I love the holidays so I don’t really care. This book was on my November 2021 TBR, and a book I am looking forward to reading.
“The International Bestseller—A feel-good, holiday rom com about identical twins who swap lives twelve days before Christmas—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren’s In a Holidaze and Josie Silver’s One Day in December.”


Sequel: Honestly, I just want to be done with this series. I loved the first book, but the second book really got of my nerves. Still, I do want to see how everything wraps up.
“The final book in Katharine McGee’s epic The Thousandth Floor series. It’s New York City, 2118. In Manhattan’s glamorous thousand-story supertower, millions of people are living scandalous lives. Leda, Watt, Rylin, Avery, and Calliope are all struggling to hide the biggest secrets of all, secrets that could destroy everything, and send their perfect worlds toppling over the edge.”


Owned TBR: This book has been talked about by just about everyone. I am hoping that it is worth the hype.
“An insightful, delightful new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beach Read and People We Meet on Vacation. One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn’t see coming.”


Those are the books on my TBR, yet I am not sure how well I will do on it. I am really trying to see what my mood wants to do when it comes to reading. Leave me a comment with what you are reading in June. And, follow my blog to get notifications on new posts.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Butterfly Sisters // Book Review

Author: Jenny Hale
Published: 2022
Genre: Adult/Contemporary
Rating:Full, star, bookmark, favorite, favourite, like, rating icon - Download on IconfinderFull, star, bookmark, favorite, favourite, like, rating icon - Download on IconfinderFull, star, bookmark, favorite, favourite, like, rating icon - Download on Iconfinder

Synopsis
A heartwarming story that will have you laughing, crying, and rushing to those you hold dear.If you loved the Christmas movies based on Jenny’s books and are looking for more feel-good, small-town romance, look no further!


*Thank you Jenny Hale for giving me the opportunity to review this book and being part of it’s blog tour.*

If you are a lover of sisterhood relationships and second chance romances, then this book is for you. The story follows Leigh as she must return to her family’s cabin, and come face-to-face with not only her estranged sister, Meredith, but the boy she left behind. The book was filled with family drama that felt over-the-top at times while still managing to be relatable.

The issues between Leigh and Meredith were very understandable. In my own life, I have a strained relationship with one of my sisters. Like Leigh, my sister judges me for my choices, and doesn’t care to know me as a person. This helped me connect with the plot, and I think other readers will also find that real world connection as well.

Leigh was a bit judgmental at times, but you could tell that she only wanted the best for Meredith, which is another very real aspect of sisterhood. The book showcased the hard parts of being a family, and what family togetherness really means. No family gets along all the time, but as a family we should celebrate and lift each other up.

“When emerging from its cocoon, a butterfly needs the struggle to push the fluid from its body into its wings. So essentially, without the struggle, it never flies.”

Although, throughout the book I felt like a lot of their problems could have been solved by simply talking to one another. They all wanted to be heard, but nobody actually wanted to communicate. Still, I can understand there wouldn’t have been much of a story if they had just talked it out from the start.

As for the romance aspect, it was a cute second chance romance. It wasn’t the main focus, and it could have been more fleshed-out. In my opinion, the love interest, Colton, seemed to have carried a torch for Leigh for a little too long. Still, the book and romance gave me such ‘Sweet Home Alabama’, the movie, vibes. Honestly, I kept picturing Josh Lucas as Colton and Reese Witherspoon as Leigh. Um, movie adaptation casting idea?

The writing style was great. The book was very easy to read and follow. It wasn’t information heavy or over-dramatic. Some chapters that were slower than other, but that’s to be expected with adult contemporary. I would be curious to see if I connect personally with some of Jenny Hale other books. I could easily see this book as a GMA book club pick. So, if you are a fan of those books, you should give this one a read. Please share and like this post, because it really helps to grow my blog.

Buy Links:
Amazon: http://geni.us/BS_Amazon
Apple : http://geni.us/BS_Apple
Google: http://geni.us/BS_Google
Kobo: http://geni.us/BS_Kobo

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Winter Book Haul // 2022 #1

Hi Friends,
It is finally time for me to share my first book haul of 2022! My husband has been horrible, and amazing, at feeding into my book addiction. However, I did purchase a good chunk of these books with a gift card I received for Christmas. I usually don’t buy this many books over a two month period, but apparently retail therapy has become my thing. Hopefully, I will have more self control in the coming months, but can one ever have too many books.

Little Women by Louisa May: The timeless tale of four sisters – Meg, Jo, Amy and Beth – experiencing both hardship and adventure in Civil War New England. Though the March family may be poor, their lives are rich with colour, as they play games, put on wild theatricals, make new friends, argue, grapple with their vices, learn from their mistakes, nurse each other through sickness and disappointments, and get into all sorts of trouble.

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley Doyle: For fans of We Were Liars and The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes a haunting magically realistic debut about a family caught between a violent history, a taboo romance, and the mysteries lurking in their own backyard.

Bunnicula: Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household—a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits…and fangs! Could this innocent-seeming rabbit actually be a vampire?

The Smoke Thieves by Sally Green: Unforgivable betrayals, devious motives, and forbidden love collide in the first installment of internationally bestselling author Sally Green’s epic new fantasy series, perfect for Game of Thrones fans.

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life by Rachel Cohn: My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life is about learning what it is to be a family, and finding the inner strength to be yourself, even in the most extreme circumstances.

Together We Caught Fire by Eva V. Gibson: A forbidden attraction grows even more complicated when the guy Lane Jamison has crushed on for years suddenly becomes her step-brother in this sexy and gorgeously written debut novel about the lines between love, desire, and obsession.

It’s a Whole Spiel: Love, Latkes, and Other Jewish Stories by Various Authors: Get ready to fall in love, experience heartbreak, and discover the true meaning of identity in this poignant collection of short stories about Jewish teens, including entries by David Levithan, Nova Ren Suma, and more!

Layoverland by Gabby Noone: From debut author Gabby Noone comes a darkly hilarious and heartfelt twist on the afterlife about finding second chances, first loves, and new friendships in the most unlikely places.

It Sounded Better in My Head by Nina Kenwood: A compulsively readable love letter to teenage romance in all of its awkward glory, perfect for fans To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Emergency Contact.

Throw Like a Girl by Sarah Henning: With lovable characters and a charming quarterback love interest, Throw Like a Girl will have readers swooning from the very first page.

We Are the Wildcats by Siobhan Vivian: A toxic coach finds himself outplayed by the high school girls on his team in this deeply suspenseful novel, which unspools over twenty-four hours through six diverse perspectives.

River of Dreams by Jan Nash: Draped in themes of first love and family, secrets and malevolence, and swirling through an exhilarating dream world full of danger, violence, and love, Jan Nash’s exciting debut is a high-stakes adventure full of suspense, romance, and magic, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Supernatural.

The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund: High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston: Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale romance.

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood: When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman’s carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur: The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache.

The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur: Divided into five chapters and illustrated by kaur, the sun and her flowers is a journey of wilting, falling, rooting, rising, and blooming. A celebration of love in all its forms.

Malice by Heather Walter: Once upon a time, there was a wicked fairy who, in an act of vengeance, cursed a line of princesses to die. A curse that could only be broken by true love’s kiss. You’ve heard this before, haven’t you? The handsome prince. The happily ever after. Utter nonsense.

By Your Side by Kasie West: An irresistible story from Kasie West that explores the timeless question: What do you do when you fall for the person you least expect?

Maybe This Time by Kasie West: Beloved author Kasie West brings her signature witty banter and rom-com fun to a bold, fresh format. Think Four Weddings and a Funeral for YA.

Seven Dirty Secrets by Natalie D. Richards: I know seven dirty secrets: One caused the fall. One did nothing. One saw it all. One didn’t care. One used their head. One played the hero. One was left for dead.

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys: Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence—inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain.

Cupcake by Cookie O’Gorman: This new swoon-worthy, feel-good #OwnVoices YA romance from the author of Adorkable celebrates body positivity in all its forms, as well as lifting each other up every day.

Beauty and the Beast by Editors of Studio Fun International: This fresh retelling of Beauty and the Beast follows the story of the classic animated film and includes paintings, sketches, and concept art from the original Disney Studio artists

Happy Dreams, Little Bunny by Leah Hong: This stunningly illustrated debut is The Runaway Bunny for a new generation—a captivating flight of fancy that also helps children lull themselves into dreamland.

This book haul was surprisingly bigger than I originally thought it would be. Sorry not sorry. I would love to know what books you have recently bought or pre-ordered. Also, did you know following my blog really helps it grow? By following you will get notified about all my posts, which I work so hard on. You won’t want to miss any of my upcoming bookish posts!

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny