Hidden Pictures // Book Review

About The Book
From Edgar Award-finalist Jason Rekulak comes a wildly inventive spin on the supernatural thriller, for fans of Stranger Things and Riley Sager, about a woman working as a nanny for a young boy with strange and disturbing secrets. Follow the story that he conjures up and you are guaranteed to lose yourself in the day and specifically, Hidden Pictures.
Buy The Book: https://amzn.to/3EfByVE

My Rating


This book is amazing! Not only is it an intense thriller, but it covers some hard topics as well. The main character, Mallory, is a newly sober, former addict that is trying to get her life back on track. Hearing Mallory’s struggles with addiction wasn’t the biggest part of the story, but always lingered in the background. Her reasons for turning to drugs was saddening, and it was hard to see people judge her for her past.

In the book, Mallory becomes a nanny for a five-year-old boy named Teddy. It was nice to see Mallory and Teddy form a close bond. They developed a sort of sibling type of relationship, which isn’t unrealistic between a nanny and their charge.

There is a romance that forms between Mallory and a neighbor, but it isn’t a huge plot point. The book is all about the mystery, and boy was it intense. There is so much going on with the mystery that you don’t know which way things will go next.

“Hardest things about recovery is coming to terms with the fact that you can’t trust your brain.”

Honestly, this isn’t the type of book where you can figure out what’s going to happen. The author would lead you in one direction and than another. It made for a fantastic read. The ending was incredible! Everything came together, and it was jaw dropping. I will say that the last chapter was a bit sad. I might have cried a  little. But, I can’t rave enough about this book.

Overall, it read like a movie, if that makes any sense at all. If there ever happens to be a movie adaptation, please sign me up to play Mallory. Also, as I mentioned before, the book hits on some heavy topics, such as death, addiction, and racism. And, there was this gross scene between Mallory and Teddy’s dad.

Funny side note, Mallory mention a few time how Hallmark movies are comforting to her, and I can’t say that I disagree. But, I do wonder if Hallmark paid for the shoutout in the book. Probably not.

In the comments, let me know if you have read this book. If not, what are you waiting for? Before leaving, hit the follow button to get notified whenever there’s a new post!

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

3 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
MK Browning
2 months ago

Great review. Makes me wanna read this!

Ellie
2 months ago

I’d love to know more about the type of mysteries this book contains, you certainly haven’t given much away!