Merry and Bright 2021 Readathon // To Be Read

Hi Friends,
I decided, last minute, to take part in the ‘Merry and Bright’ readathon, hosted by booktubers Zoe, Chandler, and Spencer. There are only six reading prompts, and it is all together a chill readathon. I have picked a different book for each prompt, so hopefully I can get to them all.

Readathon Dates: December 9th – 15th


Winter Wonderland: White On The Cover?

‘If I Stay’ meets ‘Your Name’ in Dustin Thao’s ‘You’ve Reached Sam’, a heartfelt novel about love and loss and what it means to say goodbye.

I have been dying to pick up this book. What can I say, I am a sucker for a good heartbreaking YA contemporary. This one has a sci-fi element twist that reminds me of the movie ‘The Lake House’.


Hot Cocoa: Cozy Vibes?

In this clever reimagining of Charles Dickens’s life, he and fiancée Kate Hogarth must solve the murder of an old miser, just before Christmas.

When I heard about this book, I knew that it was right up my alley. You should know by now that I am a huge ‘A Christmas Carol’ fan, so a mystery retelling sounds amazing. For some reason, this book gives me those cozy London feels.


Elf on the Shelf: Already Owned?

A heartwarming, page-turning adventure about one child’s love for his most treasured thing, and how far he will go to find it. A tale for the whole family to fall in love with, from one of the world’s greatest storytellers.

I got this book for my wedding anniversary and couldn’t be more excited for it. Being a lover of Christmas and pigs, a Christmas pig related story is sure to be a 5 star read. I hope the book doesn’t let me down.


Last Christmas: Purchased Last Year & Never Read?

The tale of Nutcracker, written by E.T.A. Hoffmann in 1816, has fascinated and inspired artists, composers, and audiences for almost two hundred years. It has retained its freshness because it appeals to the sense of wonder we all share.

I was gifted two different copies of ‘The Nutcracker’, so it seemed like it was about time to read it. I have actually never read the book, or even seen the stage production.


The Grinch: Enemies-to-Lovers or Unreliable Narrator?

Perfect for fans of ‘The Last Magician’ and ‘Serpent & Dove’, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

I have been wanting to read this book for a while, since it has become a favorite among the book community. So, I knew I had to find away to add it to my TBR. I can’t wait to jump into this ‘Romeo and Juliette’ fantasy retelling, and hopefully I will enjoy it as much as some of the others.


Baby, It’s Cold Outside: Dual Perspective?

Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich’s ‘If This Gets Out’ is an absolute showstopper! Equal parts edgy and adorable, this bright, joyful book has everything I look for in a queer YA romance.” —Phil Stamper, bestselling author of ‘The Gravity of Us’

This was on my TBR for the month, and is a much anticipated release (for me, at least).

Those are the books that I will be reading for the ‘Merry and Bright’ readathon. In total, it is only 6 days long, so hopefully I can complete this TBR. Let me know if you will be participating as well, and don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe for more content.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments