Reading Wrap-Up // August 2022

Hi Friends,
Below is my August wrap-up! I show all the books that I read in the month of August and my ratings for them. August was a great reading month, since I was able to read 13 books. My ratings were all over the place and I had my first 1 star read of the year. In the comments, let me know if you are excited to see my reviews for each of these books. And, feel free to follow not only my blog but my booktok (@bookswithbunny) and bookstagram (@books.with.bunny).

Summer Mixtape 2022 // Readathon Wrap Up

Hi Friends,
I wanted to do a Mixtapeathon wrap-up, and share what I read. If you haven’t seen my August TBR, which was essentially my Summer Mixtape TBR, then let me give you a brief rundown. This is a summer readathon created by some lovely Booktubers. The readathon ran from August 1st – 14th, and there were 5 main reading prompts. I am happy to say that I completed all the prompts! However, once the readathon started, I decided to change my TBR up a bit.


Here Comes the Sun – read a book with nature on the cover

Originally, I was going to read ‘Lost in the Never Woods‘ by Aiden Thomas, but I realized about 12% into the book that I might just not be a fan of Peter Pan retellings. So, I decided to opt for a failsafe book, which was ‘Maybe This Time‘ by Kasie West.

“Beloved author Kasie West brings her signature witty banter and rom-com fun to a bold, fresh format. Think Four Weddings and a Funeral for YA.”


Blame It On The Weatherman – read an unseasonal read

My initial pick for this prompt was ‘The Witchery‘ by S. Isabelle, but I wasn’t feeling the audiobook. So, I was very lucky that my hold for ‘Long Live The Pumpkin Queen‘ by Shea Ernshaw came in on Libby. This book took me a while, but was one of my most anticipated books of the year.

“Hear Sally’s story in this young adult sequel to Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas written by New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw.”


Cake By The Ocean – read a book involving food/read a spicy book

Once again, instead of going with my first book choice, ‘With the Fire on High‘ by Elizabeth Acevedo, I read ‘A Taste for Love‘ by Jennifer Yen. Yes, I went with a food related book, because spicy books aren’t really my thing.

“For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love is a delicious rom-com about first love, familial expectations, and making the perfect bao.”


We’re Going To Ibiza – read a book set in another country

I did end up reading ‘Hot British Boyfriend‘ by Kristy Boyce, and you are certainly going to want to read my review of this book. Let’s just say I have a lot of things to say about it.

“This enchanting debut teen romance novel, which follows one girl across the Atlantic in a quest to find adventure, love (preferably with a guy with a cute accent), and maybe even herself, is perfect for fans of Kasie West and Stephanie Perkins.”


Mixtape – pick a book based on your favourite summer bop/free choice

Finally, I read ‘The Girl From The Sea‘ by Molly Ostertag, which was a very short read. When it comes to readathons, shorter books are the way to go, so I am glad I had this on my TBR.

“In what will prove to be the most important summer of her life so far, Anna learns about love, herself, and the magic that an ordinary summer can bring.”


In total, I read 1554 pages and completed all the prompts! I didn’t complete any of the non-reading prompts, but that is okay by me. I am very proud with the outcome of the readathon, and there will even be an Autumn Mixtape readathon. Please follow the blog, so that you can get notified when my reviews for each of these books go up.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

April 2021 // Reading Wrap-Up

Hello Book Lovers,
In the month of April, I read 4 books total. I am happy with that number, since I did take a small week-long reading break during the month. I feel like most of the books I have read haven’t amazed me. I don’t feel like I am a hash book rater at all, still a lot of the books have simply been 3 star reads for me. Also, I want to note that whatever I rate about doesn’t mean it is at all bad. Book ratings are all personal opinions.

If I’m Being Honest by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley: 5.0/5.0 Stars
Incredible! I was going to dnf this book, but I am glad I stuck with it. It is a new favorite of mine.

Bookish and the Beast by Ashley Poston: 3.5/5.0 Stars
This is a cute contemporary retelling, but not standout in my opinion.

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman: 3.0/5.0 Stars
I have mixed feelings about this book. I didn’t love it, didn’t hate. It was okay.

Time Of Our Lives by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley: 3.0/5.0 stars
Of course, I had to pick up another book by this author duo. Unfortunately, this one was a bit of a let down.

As always I will be doing reviews for each book, so that I can share my complete thoughts on them. I was very happy to have read a five-star read, but I feel as though the rest of the books put me in a small reading slump at the end of the month. Let me know about the books you read in April, and leave me your book recommendations in the comments. If you want to support me give this post a like, share and follow the blog.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

March 2021 Reading Wrap-Up

Hello Book Lovers,
It is March wrap-up time! I had a pretty good reading month in March, and feel as though I rediscovered my love of books. I read 5 books last month, and I am happy with that total. I am trying not to put as much pressure on myself to read, and I think that has helped a lot.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling: 5/5 Stars
I am doing my first read through of this series please don’t yell at me. I loved this book even more than the first and found it very funny.

The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Poston: 3.5/5 Stars
This book was very mediocre, and not favorite. I didn’t love it or hate it, but it was a little disappointing.

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab: 4/5 Stars
I started this trilogy a while ago, and remember the first book being slightly creepy. However, the ghost story in this one pulled at my heart-strings. I did still really enjoy it.

Admission by Julie Buxbaum: 4/5 Stars
This wasn’t on my tbr for the month, but I am glad I picked it up. I feel like it is an underrated newer release, and I am glad I read it.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee: 4/5 Stars
Wow, Wow! Need I say more?

I want to let you guys know that I will be doing full reviews on some of these book, so please check back for those. Let me know what you read least month in the comments. Please like this post, and follow the blog.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny