The Accident Season // Book Review


About The Book
For fans of We Were Liars and The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes a haunting magically realistic debut about a family caught between a violent history, a taboo romance, and the mysteries lurking in their own backyard.
Buy The Book: https://amzn.to/3ZQ6pjq

My Rating


From the very beginning, I could tell that the plot was going to be interesting. It had my full attention in the first chapter, and I couldn’t wait to see where the story was going to go. In the book, we follow a family that is pledged with the ‘accident season’ which turns accidents into tragedies.

Our main character is seventeen-year-old Cara. She’s close to her older sister, and ex-stepbrother, who still lives with her family. She also happens to have a bestie that is very into tarot cards and magic. Although, most of the characters were decent, I didn’t really feel connected to them.

As the book went on, I noticed the writing slowing down a lot. The plot became very strange, because it got very off message. A lot. For me, there was just too much going on, and minimum of three different plots to follow.

There was a Halloween party scene and a forgotten girl. There were a lot of metaphors throughout the story that made it very confusing to follow. But, that’s not to say the story was entirely bad.

“Accidents happen. Our bones shatter, our skin splits, our hearts break. We burn, we drown, we stay alive.”

Be aware that this story features many taboo subjects. One being the fact that underage drinking was approved by Cara’s mom. For me that’s was a little extreme. There was also underage smoking and a seriously abusive relationship.

For me the toxic relationship aspect was handled very well, but I can see how it could be triggering to some readers. As well as the sexual abuse aspect in the book. And don’t even get me started on the sort of weird incest relationship that developed as the story progressed.

I felt that the plot’s main focus was to show that once you deal with what’s haunting you, it has less power over your life. Also, are accidents simply accidents? Or is there something’s more magical behind them?

Overall, the book wasn’t horrible, and it was a fairly quick read. If you’re looking for a witchy story with a lot of heavy topics, and don’t mind a plot that jumps around a lot, then I’d give this book a read. I just felt the story wasn’t my cup of tea.

Make sure to look at the trigger warnings for this book before picking it up. In the comments, tell me your favorite witchy book. If you want to make my day, please give my blog a follow.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny


Discover more from Books With Bunny

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments