The Do-Over // Book Review


About The Book
In this riotous young adult romp for fans of Recommended for You and A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow, a teen girl has the worst Valentine’s Day ever—only to relive it over and over again. How many days can one girl passively watch her life go up in flames? And when something good starts to come out of these terrible days, what happens when the universe stops doling out do-overs?
Buy The Book: https://amzn.to/3xeOYNy

My Rating


This was one of my highly anticipated releases of 2022, because my love for Lynn Painter’s ‘Better Than The Movies’ book is very strong. In this book, we follow Emilie, who lives the worst Valentine’s Day ever. Well, worst according to a teenage girl. But, in a strange turn of events, she gets stuck in a loop of repeating that terrible Valentine’s Day.

Yes, this is one of those classic ‘Groundhog Day’ retellings. Although, the plot of this book is super predictable, I still found it to be a cute read. And, the writing was, once again, superb.

I had a love/hate relationship with Emilie. There were times that I found her likable and other times I didn’t care much for her character. However, the love interest in the story was great, but I have a thing for the brooding, outcast, sort of bad boy.

The best part of the story was how the relationship between the MC and love interest developed so naturally. You could see their connection growing and them fall for each other. It was very relatable and adorable.

“I fell in love with you on Valentine’s Day, Emilie, but I need more than just seven minutes.”

For me, the outcome of the story was good, and once Emilie started facing things head on, her life changed for the better. Also, I like the addition of Taylor Swift, and I need to get a tattoo that says ‘I had a marvelous time ruining everything!’

However, the thing that hindered my enjoyment of the book was the fact that it gave me tremendous anxiety. Somewhere around the halfway point I dreaded picking the book up, because my anxiety was so high. I have no idea what caused this, but I don’t think it’s an issue that most other readers will have to worry about.

Overall, Lynn Painter has once again released a adorable YA contemporary. Although, it’s not exactly on the same level as ‘Better Than The Movies’. Maybe I’m just not a lover of time loop plots. But, I did love how she didn’t leave the readers hanging, and kind of has an explanation for Emilie’s time loop.

In the comments, tell me if you like the ‘Groundhog Day’ trope in books. And, if you like book reviews, be sure to give the blog a follow.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny


Discover more from Books With Bunny

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments