To Be Read // August 2022 (ft. Summer Mix-Tape Readathon)

Hi Friends,
It is TBR time once again! Unfortunately, my reading hasn’t been the best this month so I am hoping that August might reignite my passion for reading. I will be doing the Summer Mix-Tape readathon that is taking place from 1st – 14th August. If you want to find out more about the readathon and all the co-hosts, you can watch Lianne (literarydiversions) announcement video.

Before I get into my TBR for the readathon, I want to mention my ‘The Reading Rabbits’ book club pick for August. I have a book club that you can join through the Novellic app. This month we will be reading ‘Hidden Pictures’ by Jason Rekulak, which is slightly out of my comfort zone, since it is an adult thriller. However, I have heard some pretty good things about this book, and it sounds intriguing.

From Jason Rekulak, Edgar-nominated author of The Impossible Fortress, comes a wildly inventive spin on the classic horror story in Hidden Pictures, a supernatural thriller about a woman working as a nanny for a young boy with strange and disturbing secrets.”

Now on to the readathon prompts!
Here Comes the Sun – read a book with nature on the cover

I decided to go with ‘Lost in the Never Woods’ by Aiden Thomas, because it does have some trees on the cover. That counts as nature, right? This is a middle grade ‘Peter Pan’ retelling, which hasn’t been talked about a lot, so I am curious to see if it is any good.

When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers. It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light.”

Blame It On The Weatherman – read an unseasonal read
I instantly knew that I was going to go for a spooky read when I saw this prompt, and I recently borrowed ‘The Witchery’ by S. Isabelle on Libby. I know nothing about this book, except that it is a YA witchy story, which is all I need to know about it.

A bewitching debut by S. Isabelle, perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Zoraida Córdova, and Leigh Bardugo! THE HAUNTING SEASON IS HERE AND THE WOLVES ARE AWAKE.”

Cake By The Ocean – read a book involving food/read a spicy book

I have been wanting to read Elizabeth Acevedo’s book ‘With the Fire on High’ for the longest time. Food is a big focus in the book making it the perfect choice for this prompt. Let’s hope I actually end up reading it this month.

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning title The Poet X comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright.”

We’re Going To Ibiza – read a book set in another country

Recently, I learned about ‘Hot British Boyfriend’ by Kristy Boyce, and it sounds like a fun YA contemporary. Since August is the last official month of summer, not that the weather will reflect that, I want to read a few more lighthearted YA contemporary reads.

Ellie embarks on a whirlwind romance, one that takes her on adventures to some of England’s most beautiful places, she still needs to figure out if this is actually the answer to all her problems…and whether the perfect boyfriend is actually the perfect boy for her.”

Mixtape – pick a book based on your favourite summer bop/free choice

First off, my husband seriously hates the phase bop and tells me all the time that I am never going to make bop happen. Anyways, a song that always comes to mind when I think of the summer is ‘Island in the Sun’ by Weezer. Mainly because it was featured in ‘Aquamarine’, one of my favorite summer movies. I decided that a book set on the beach or an island at summer would work perfectly for this prompt. So, I am going with ‘The Girl From The Sea’ by Molly Ostertag, since it is set on a small island.

In what will prove to be the most important summer of her life so far, Anna learns about love, herself, and the magic that an ordinary summer can bring.”

Those are all the books that I have set to read in August. For the rest of the month I will just be mood reading, which is always fun. In the comments leave me some book recommendations. And, hit that follow button so that you never miss a post.

Until The Next Chapter,

Bunny

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

8 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Julian
19 days ago

I love this! Hot, British Boyfriend resonates in my soul because that’s what I want most in life. And my partner is well aware 🤣

Jenny in Neverland
19 days ago

I’ve heard a lot about Lost In the Neverwoods and I keep meaning to pick it up but just haven’t got round to it! Hope you enjoy 🙂

According to Chren
19 days ago

Happy reading! We enjoyed Hot British Boyfriend!

Mehsi
20 days ago

This is such a fun tag! Good luck and have fun reading the books! Fire on High and Girl From the Sea were both fabulous books!