Wretched Waterpark // Book Review


About The Book
A middle-grade mystery series that’s spooky, creepy, and filled with gothic twists! Meet the Sinister-Winterbottom twins, who solve mysteries at increasingly bizarre summer vacation destinations in the hopes of being reunited with their parents—or at the very least finally finding a good churro.
Buy The Book: https://amzn.to/42mZCQ4

My Rating

 


I’m not gonna lie, this was a very quick and easy middle-grade mystery-ish book. I wasn’t exactly sure where the plot was going and I didn’t love how the story as a whole played out.

In the book, we follow 12 year old twins, Theodore and Alexander Sinister-Winterbottom, and their older sister Wilhelmina. As they spend the summer with their Aunt Saffronia, and discover a mystery at a strange waterpark.

We got to know Sinister-Winterbottom kids’ personalities, and the side characters were also fleshed out well. And, the writing really is what kept me reading. Kiersten White has a way of making me keep wanting to regardless of how I feel about the plot.

My biggest problem is that I just didn’t care for the mystery. I didn’t find it to be engaging, and I wasn’t drawn into the story. The plot felt very young, so as an adult reader that likes her adult mystery thrillers, I found the book to be very underwhelming. You can tell it was intended for tweens.

“It was the strangest summer.”

I speed read the last half of the book because it was easy to follow and I wanted to be done with the story. However, that’s not to say it’s a bad book. I believe younger kids would really enjoy it. And, I might have been more of a fan if I had read it when I was a kid.

Negative thoughts aside, I haven’t completely given up on the series. If I do end up continuing on with the book it will most likely be do to the writing. And, the fact they’ll be more simple reads. They might even be great to help get you out of a reading slump. However, I won’t plan on any of them being 5 star reads, but sometimes that okay.

Overall, if you do want a fast paced read that’s good to boost your reading goal this year, then I would pick this up. Or, if you know a tween in your life that is into mystery books. It is recommended for fans of ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ and ‘Scooby Doo’, and I completely understand why.

In the comments, let me know if you enjoyed this book. Or, if you have any middle-grade mystery book recommendations. Don’t forget to follow my blog to get notified whenever there’s a new post.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fadima Mooneira
9 months ago

This book is not my cuppa tea. But it does sound like an interesting read. Thank you for sharing.