Merry and Bright 2021 Readathon // Reading Log // Bookmas 2021

Hi Friends,
I decided to do a reading vlog of sorts on the Merry and Bright readathon. Keep in mind that this is my first attempt at a reading vlog, so hopefully you guys in enjoy it. Also, I did a post on my TBR for the readathon that you can read as well.

Day 1: 12/09/2021
Today is the first day of the readathon! I cheated a little bit and started my book last night, but I only got to 12%. The book that I am starting out with is ‘These Violent Delights’ by Chloe Gong. This book is for the prompt ‘The Grinch: Enemies-to-lovers.’ And, I have gotten to 41%, which isn’t bad, if I do say so myself. I was hoping to get to 50% today, but unfortunately, that didn’t happen. My mom, my sister and I had to take my Uncle Christmas shopping. We went to some antique stores, and this cute little coffee and fudge shop. I don’t love antiquing, but honestly I can always find something to buy. Shopaholic problems.

Day 2: 12/10/2021
My sister drove into the city for the day to spend some time with the family. We got together and had a girls shopping day. I spent a little too much, but it was fun. We went to two different Targets, then Victoria’s Secret, Hobby Lobby and of course Starbucks. We had lunch at Red Robin, and Jack-In-The-Box for dinner. I also maybe got a book at Target, but it was 20% off. Early Christmas gift to myself. I did get some super cute things from Victoria’s Secret, since they were having a great sale. I had to get a gift there anyways, so I decided to treat myself to some items as well.

The day was draining, but fun. Still, it didn’t leave much time for reading. I am still at 41% of ‘These Violent Delights,’ but luckily I did manage to finish a book. I read ‘The Nutcracker,’ which was for the prompt ‘Last Christmas: Purchased Last Year & Never Read?’ It was a fast read, and I am happy to be able to check it off my TBR.

Day 3: 12/12/2021
I had a pretty relaxing day, so I didn’t get much reading done. I was more focused on writing blog content, since I have the ‘12 Days of Bookmas’ coming up. Still, I did get in a small amount of reading, and got to 61% of ‘These Violent Delights.’ I am enjoying the story a lot more than I anticipated, which is exciting. Other than that, I watched some Christmas movies, worked out, and napped. Don’t judge me.

Day 4: 12/13/2021
I was working a ton on my blog this day, since it was the start of Bookmas. I read only a small bit more of ‘These Violent Delights’, getting to 67%. So, I don’t have much of an update. Also, I had some personal things going on, which made reading not my top priority.

Day 5: 12/14/2021
I finally finished ‘These Violent Delights’! I’m very excited to post my review on it, because I have a lot of thoughts. I will say that it made it on to my top books of the year list. In addition to reading, I worked out and did more blog stuff, which you can probably tell is my normal routine.

Day 6: 12/15/2021
I was going to read another book today, which I could have finished in about an hour. However, I didn’t do any reading since I went out fairly early in the day. I did see some amazing Christmas lights, and will be posting pictures on my Instagram account (@bunnysbookishlife).

In total, I read two books. I was hoping to finish at least 3 books, but that wasn’t the case. Nonetheless, I am still happy that I participated in the readathon. If you took part in the ‘Merry and Bright’ readathon let me know how you did in the comments. As always, like, share, and follow the blog.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Merry and Bright 2021 Readathon // To Be Read

Hi Friends,
I decided, last minute, to take part in the ‘Merry and Bright’ readathon, hosted by booktubers Zoe, Chandler, and Spencer. There are only six reading prompts, and it is all together a chill readathon. I have picked a different book for each prompt, so hopefully I can get to them all.

Readathon Dates: December 9th – 15th


Winter Wonderland: White On The Cover?

‘If I Stay’ meets ‘Your Name’ in Dustin Thao’s ‘You’ve Reached Sam’, a heartfelt novel about love and loss and what it means to say goodbye.

I have been dying to pick up this book. What can I say, I am a sucker for a good heartbreaking YA contemporary. This one has a sci-fi element twist that reminds me of the movie ‘The Lake House’.


Hot Cocoa: Cozy Vibes?

In this clever reimagining of Charles Dickens’s life, he and fiancée Kate Hogarth must solve the murder of an old miser, just before Christmas.

When I heard about this book, I knew that it was right up my alley. You should know by now that I am a huge ‘A Christmas Carol’ fan, so a mystery retelling sounds amazing. For some reason, this book gives me those cozy London feels.


Elf on the Shelf: Already Owned?

A heartwarming, page-turning adventure about one child’s love for his most treasured thing, and how far he will go to find it. A tale for the whole family to fall in love with, from one of the world’s greatest storytellers.

I got this book for my wedding anniversary and couldn’t be more excited for it. Being a lover of Christmas and pigs, a Christmas pig related story is sure to be a 5 star read. I hope the book doesn’t let me down.


Last Christmas: Purchased Last Year & Never Read?

The tale of Nutcracker, written by E.T.A. Hoffmann in 1816, has fascinated and inspired artists, composers, and audiences for almost two hundred years. It has retained its freshness because it appeals to the sense of wonder we all share.

I was gifted two different copies of ‘The Nutcracker’, so it seemed like it was about time to read it. I have actually never read the book, or even seen the stage production.


The Grinch: Enemies-to-Lovers or Unreliable Narrator?

Perfect for fans of ‘The Last Magician’ and ‘Serpent & Dove’, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

I have been wanting to read this book for a while, since it has become a favorite among the book community. So, I knew I had to find away to add it to my TBR. I can’t wait to jump into this ‘Romeo and Juliette’ fantasy retelling, and hopefully I will enjoy it as much as some of the others.


Baby, It’s Cold Outside: Dual Perspective?

Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich’s ‘If This Gets Out’ is an absolute showstopper! Equal parts edgy and adorable, this bright, joyful book has everything I look for in a queer YA romance.” —Phil Stamper, bestselling author of ‘The Gravity of Us’

This was on my TBR for the month, and is a much anticipated release (for me, at least).

Those are the books that I will be reading for the ‘Merry and Bright’ readathon. In total, it is only 6 days long, so hopefully I can complete this TBR. Let me know if you will be participating as well, and don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe for more content.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny