The January Book Tag // 2023

Hi Friends,
Last year, I did the January Book Tag and I thought I’d make it a yearly tradition. I don’t want to ramble too much, so let’s just jump right into the questions.

In 2022, the last book I read was ‘Whiteout’ by Various Authors. This was a fun holiday contemporary, but it was just meh. The first book I read was ‘Late To The Party’ by Kelly Quindlen. I surprisingly still remember a lot about this book. It was just your run of the mill YA Contemporary, but it did have good LGBT representation.
Related Post: Late To The Party // Book Review

Sadly, it was ‘Five Survive’ by Holly Jackson. I don’t want to say too much about this book, but it wasn’t a good start to my reading year.

As always I did a whole post on my reading goals for the new year. But, I wanted to share three goals that I didn’t mention in that post. The first is that I want to complete the 12 book challenge. This is where your friends give you book recommendations and you need to read 12 of those books by the end of the year.

Next, I’d like to read some Stephen King books this year. Unlikely, one is on my 12 book challenge, yet the main one I want to read is ‘IT’. Lastly, I want to read books out of my comfort zone. Who knows I might find a hidden gem in a genre I’d never consider reading before.

She Is a Haunting’ by Trang Thanh Tran (February 2023): Maybe it’s just me but this book is giving off major ‘House Of Hollow’ vibes. It’s a thriller, horror book that takes place in a French colonial house in Vietnam. Haunted house story’s are always creepy.
Related Post: House Of Hollow // Book Review

One of Us Is Back’ by Karen M. McManus (August 2023): This is the final book in the ‘One Of Us Is Lying’ universe. Not only are the Bayview four back, but so are the characters from the second book ‘One Of Us Is Next’. I’m just hoping we get some more Phoebe and Knox moments.

The Bewitching Hour (A Tara Maclay Prequel)’ by Ashley Poston (August 2023): I cannot wait for this release. Although, I was never the biggest Buffy fan. For some reason I was more of an ‘Angel’ series person. I loved Tara! She was my favorite Buffy character. I’m so excited to read a book about her before she met the Scooby gang.

I surpassed my GoodReads reading goal for the year, which was pretty amazing! But, other than that I don’t thank I read my shelves as much as I would have liked. And, I barely read any backlist titles.

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute‘ by Talia Hibbert: Don’t get me wrong this sounds like a cute YA contemporary romance, which I tend to love. However, it’s a second chance, ex-best friends to lovers romance. I’m just not a fan of that trope. Still, I’m not completely riding this one off.

Happy Place’ by Emily Henry: Not going to lie Emily Henry is a good writer and I did read 50% of her novel ‘Book Lovers’ before putting down. That being said, I don’t really think her books are for me. Also, this is a second chance romance, which I don’t jive with in books or movies.

Probably, just really thinking about the books I pick up and if I’ll like them. I want to get better at knowing my reading taste.

I’m pretty excited for ‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes’ even though I haven’t finished ‘The Hunger Games’ series. But, I’ve seen the movies and can’t wait to see this adaption. Also, I did see a rumor that the adaption of Kristin Hannah’s novel ‘The Nightingale‘ might come out this year, which I’d been interested in seeing.

It would probably be reading 103 books. That is the most books I have ever read in a year, so it made me really proud of myself.

I started ‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven close to the end of the year, which I would like to finish. And, I’d eventually like to go back to ‘Lovely War’ by Julie Berry. I’m about 50% of the way through with it, so it shouldn’t take me too long to finish.

Let me know in the comments, if you have done this tag and I will go give it a read. Also, tell me what was your first read of 2023. Don’t forget to share and like this post, and click the follow button.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny

Twenty-Twenty Three // To Be Read

For Bookmas day 11, I let you know if I read my most anticipated releases of 2022. So, today for Bookmas day 12, I want to talk about my 2023 TBR. These are some of the books that I want to make a priority next year. I am not going to be including any 2023 releases on this list, so these are just backlist titles I haven’t gotten around to yet.


Icebreaker by Hannah Grace
“Sparks fly when a competitive figure skater and hockey team captain are forced to share a rink.”

Now I didn’t hear about the hype of this book until the end of year. Although I’m not the biggest adult romance fan, I’m curious to see what all the hype is about.

Kill Joy by Holly Jackson
“Find out where it all began for Pip in this prequel to the best-selling A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder,Good Girl, Bad Blood and As Good As Dead!”

This is a short prequel to the ‘A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder’ trilogy. It is the only book that I haven’t read and seems like it will be a pretty fast read. Even though I didn’t love the final book in the trilogy, I would still like to read this companion book.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
“From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic and Velvet Was the Night comes a dreamy reimagining of The Island of Doctor Moreau set against the backdrop of nineteenth-century Mexico.”

I read ‘Mexican Gothic’ this year and have been hearing a lot about this book. I don’t know much about this book, but I enjoy Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s writing. And, this is targeted as a horror retelling, which sounds like something I’d enjoy.

The Do-Over by Lynn Painter
“In this riotous young adult romp for fans of Recommended for You and A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow, a teen girl has the worst Valentine’s Day ever—only to relive it over and over again.”

Even though I have only read one of Lynn Painter’s books, she has become one of my favorite YA authors. This is a 2023 must-read for me, because I am sure that I am going to love it.


Daisy Darker by Alice Feeney
“The NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR of Rock Paper Scissors returns with a locked-room mystery when a family reunion leads to murder in a delightfully twisty and atmospheric thriller.”

I wasn’t obsessed with ‘Rock, Paper, Scissors’, still I have heard nothing but great things about this book; specifically, that the twist in this book is really good.

Jo & Laurie by Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz
“Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.”

I have been wanting to read this book for a while. Although, the ‘Little Women’ book isn’t my favorite, I usually love adaptations of the story. I’m curious to read a story all about Jo and Laurie, since we all know how their relationship turned out.

Moment of Truth by Kasie West
“Beloved author Kasie West once again delivers a witty, lighthearted romance that will charm her legions of fans and is perfect for readers of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.”

This is the only novel of Kasie West I have yet to read. I need to get to this one, so that I can finally be done with all her backlist titles.

The Guinevere Deception by Kiersten White
“From #1 New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes a new fantasy series reimagining the Arthurian legend, set in the magical world of Camelot . . . . There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl.”

This is another book that has been on my radar for years. I have liked the previous things that I’ve read by Kiersten White, so I have high hopes for this historical fiction fantasy.


An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
“From the internationally bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns comes a breathtaking fantasy story of danger and forbidden love. This is the perfect read for fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah J. Maas’s A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES series, and Holly Black!”

I tend to be a fan of slower, lyrical-type books, and this book seems to fit that description. However, I do hope it doesn’t put me in a reading slump.

All These Bodies by Kendare Blake
“For months, a gruesome killer has been plaguing the Midwest. The murderer’s calling card? The bodies they leave behind are completely drained of blood.”

Since it’s release in 2021, this book has intrigued me. And, despite not having heard the best things about it I know that it is one I would like to read into 2023.

The Stand-In by Lily Chu
“Readers will delight in this glamourous, swoon worthy enemies-to-lovers romance that is as hilarious as it is heart-wrenching.”

This book hasn’t been talked about a lot, but I’m always down for a good ‘The Prince and the Pauper’ retelling. I have a feeling that I might love this book, so it is at the top of my list to read in 2023.

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe
“In this feminist, suspenseful thriller, the daughter of a con artist is taken hostage in a bank heist—and will need to tap into all her skills in order to survive.”

This is another book that I need to read at the start of 2023. It sounds amazing and like nothing I’ve ever read before. Also, I just found out that it is being adapted into a Netflix original movie.

There you have my 2023 (backlist) TBR! In the comments, let me know what books you are dying to read in the new year. If you want to help support my growing blog, then give this post a like. You can also share this post, and follow my book blog as well.

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny