To Be Read // August 2022 (ft. Summer Mix-Tape Readathon)

Hi Friends,
It is TBR time once again! Unfortunately, my reading hasn’t been the best this month so I am hoping that August might reignite my passion for reading. I will be doing the Summer Mix-Tape readathon that is taking place from 1st – 14th August. If you want to find out more about the readathon and all the co-hosts, you can watch Lianne (literarydiversions) announcement video.

Before I get into my TBR for the readathon, I want to mention my ‘The Reading Rabbits’ book club pick for August. I have a book club that you can join through the Novellic app. This month we will be reading ‘Hidden Pictures’ by Jason Rekulak, which is slightly out of my comfort zone, since it is an adult thriller. However, I have heard some pretty good things about this book, and it sounds intriguing.

From Jason Rekulak, Edgar-nominated author of The Impossible Fortress, comes a wildly inventive spin on the classic horror story in Hidden Pictures, a supernatural thriller about a woman working as a nanny for a young boy with strange and disturbing secrets.”

Now on to the readathon prompts!
Here Comes the Sun – read a book with nature on the cover

I decided to go with ‘Lost in the Never Woods’ by Aiden Thomas, because it does have some trees on the cover. That counts as nature, right? This is a middle grade ‘Peter Pan’ retelling, which hasn’t been talked about a lot, so I am curious to see if it is any good.

When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers. It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light.”

Blame It On The Weatherman – read an unseasonal read
I instantly knew that I was going to go for a spooky read when I saw this prompt, and I recently borrowed ‘The Witchery’ by S. Isabelle on Libby. I know nothing about this book, except that it is a YA witchy story, which is all I need to know about it.

A bewitching debut by S. Isabelle, perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Zoraida Córdova, and Leigh Bardugo! THE HAUNTING SEASON IS HERE AND THE WOLVES ARE AWAKE.”

Cake By The Ocean – read a book involving food/read a spicy book

I have been wanting to read Elizabeth Acevedo’s book ‘With the Fire on High’ for the longest time. Food is a big focus in the book making it the perfect choice for this prompt. Let’s hope I actually end up reading it this month.

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning title The Poet X comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright.”

We’re Going To Ibiza – read a book set in another country

Recently, I learned about ‘Hot British Boyfriend’ by Kristy Boyce, and it sounds like a fun YA contemporary. Since August is the last official month of summer, not that the weather will reflect that, I want to read a few more lighthearted YA contemporary reads.

Ellie embarks on a whirlwind romance, one that takes her on adventures to some of England’s most beautiful places, she still needs to figure out if this is actually the answer to all her problems…and whether the perfect boyfriend is actually the perfect boy for her.”

Mixtape – pick a book based on your favourite summer bop/free choice

First off, my husband seriously hates the phase bop and tells me all the time that I am never going to make bop happen. Anyways, a song that always comes to mind when I think of the summer is ‘Island in the Sun’ by Weezer. Mainly because it was featured in ‘Aquamarine’, one of my favorite summer movies. I decided that a book set on the beach or an island at summer would work perfectly for this prompt. So, I am going with ‘The Girl From The Sea’ by Molly Ostertag, since it is set on a small island.

In what will prove to be the most important summer of her life so far, Anna learns about love, herself, and the magic that an ordinary summer can bring.”

Those are all the books that I have set to read in August. For the rest of the month I will just be mood reading, which is always fun. In the comments leave me some book recommendations. And, hit that follow button so that you never miss a post.

Until The Next Chapter,

Bunny

Beach Reads // Book Recommendations

Hi Friends,
Summer is approaching, and that means it beach read season! I have a few books already picked out to read this summer, and I can’t wait to dive into them. So, I thought I would give you all some books to add to your summer TBR.

The Summer I Turned Pretty‘ by Jenny Han
Yep, I am jumping on the bandwagon, and recommending this trilogy to you all. Although I don’t find it nearly as good as Jenny Han’s ‘To All The Boys’ trilogy, it is still a decent summer read. The book follows a girl named Belly (short for Isobel) who spend every summer at a beach house with her mom and brother, along with her mom’s best friend and her two sons, Jerome and Conrad. This summer, Belly isn’t the little girl she once was, and finds herself in a love triangle with Jerome and Conrad. It is a classic YA contemporary about growing up and first love. But I just could never get behind the nickname Belly. It is being turned into an Amazon Prime series, set to be released on June 17th, so now would be the perfect time to read the books.

Sunkissed‘ by Kasie West
If you know anything about me, than you know that I am an avid Kasie West reader. In my opinion, she writes some of the best young adult contemporaries. However, this book wasn’t my favorite. I do still think it is a good summer read, though. The book follows Avery, who is forced to spend the summer with her parents and sister at a family fun camp. Throughout the summer, Avery starts to connect with the camp staff, notably Brooks. As she and Brooks grow closer through their shared love of music, Avery beings a journey of self discovery. The story was cute, but I did have some issues with it. Still I do think a lot of people will enjoy this book. I mean with a title like ‘Sunkissed’ you instantly think beach read.

Butterfly Sisters‘ by Jenny Hale
This is an adult romance and sisterhood book. If you’re fans of second chance romances, small towns, and family relationships, then this is the book for you. The story follows Leigh as she must return to her family cabin, at her mother’s request. Being back at the cabin floods Leigh with the memories of her late grandmother. To make matters worse, she runs into the boy who she let got away, Colton. As if that wasn’t enough, on top of everything else, she is dealing with a strained relationship with her younger sister Meredith. Everything, from the lake side setting to the romance, gives you all those summer romance feels. Although, the romantic side to the story was sweet, the book focus more on family. It is a story about a family bond, and rebuilding some of those relationships.

Cool For The Summer‘ by Dahlia Adler
This book is perfect for those looking for a sapphic teen romance. Lara’s return to school becomes complicated when her longtime crush starts to take an interest in her. Right when Jasmine, whom she had a summer romance with, becomes her new classmate. The book alternates between Lara’s summer with Jasmine, and the present day. We get to see the two girls grow closer, as well as the reason for their now strained relationship. It was a simple and sweet YA contemporary, with not too much spice. It’s also an easy read, that you could probably finish in one day. Also, ‘Cool For The Summer’ is the title of a Demi Lovato song, which some have said is her version of ‘I Kissed A Girl’ by Katy Perry.

These are my summer book recommendations, but I am sure there are plenty more great summer reads out there. In the comments, let me know what you will be reading in the coming months. If you want to help my blog grow, hit that follow button!

Until The Next Chapter,
Bunny